piclist 1999\02\23\122853a >
Thread: We kindly advise you to open this letter
face BY : Mark Willis email (remove spam text)

OK, Folks, I'll report this JERK Spammer, anyone else in Washington
State or California care to join me?  Here's who to complain to, and so
on, this sort of subject line is illegal under WA state law and IIRC
California's as well.  And - if you are dumb enough to trust this
SPAMmer - you get a nice 900# phone bill from a Chilean phone company,
looks like to me.  Somehow I choose not to call, as I boycott all

 My LARTs look something like the following (you want to enclose full
headers, as otherwise the people you send it to cannot track the SPAM


Yahoo.com:  Please nuke the dropbox "KILLspammoneadoreRemoveMEspamyahoo.com", used here as
To:, From:, and Reply-To: addresses.

CAIS.NET: fyi.

Fred.Net: mail.fred.net [] relayed this UCE "SPAM" on to me,
from your bigdog.fred.net [] machine, which appears here to
have been abused to relay for the SPAMmer.  I just checked, it's still
open now per the samspade.org tester.  Please close that relay to 3rd
party SMTP relaying, so you don't contribute further to this 'Net

siol.net: was the injection point of this UCE "SPAM",
please track down & disconnect this SPAMmer.

sprint-canada.net:  Please double-check me, I think the lines containing
the IP are forged, but if someone managed to set a Slovenian
relay to bounce to a relaying machine, it'd still be nice if it bit them
- Thanks!  (I checked, dawn-rest.com isn't registered, mminfo.com exists
in New York but sure looks forged to me!)

atg.wa.gov:  Forged headers, misleading subject line, relay rape,
Slovenian origin - and I've been registered for over 6 months - but this
SPAMmer didn't care, as they sent the message to a mailing list with
1700+ members, intentionally, the "pic microcontroller discussion list
<@spam@PICLISTspam_OUTspamMITVMA.MIT.EDU>".  dawn-rest.com isn't registered, so it's
obviously faked!  Also please note my comments to the FTC below, this is
a 900 number phone scam.

FTC.GOV:  This UCE "SPAM" has people call long-distance to a Chilean 900
type phone number (want to bet it's quite expensive per minute to get on
that number, and they try to keep you on a long time?)  International
telephone fraud, here.

 They suggest: "For USA citizens Call 011 56 900 2070. For the rest of
the world please Call 00 56 900 2070." and to use "this 10-digit code
number: 1199228844."  They then claim "Your local telephone provider
will only charge you for your international call."  I doubt that,

 Is there anyone who can ask the Chilean authorities to look into this?

 Mark Willis, spamBeGonemwillisKILLspamspamspamBeGonenwlink.com

---  Begin Paste  ---
              from LIME.EASE.LSOFT.COM (lime.ease.lsoft.com
[]) by pop.nwlink.com
              (8.9.3/8.9.3) with ESMTP id DAA19573 for
<spamBeGonemwillis.....spamNWLINK.COM>; Tue, 23 Feb 1999
              03:28:51 -0800 (PST)
              from PEAR.EASE.LSOFT.COM ( by
              Unix v1.1b) with SMTP id
<EraseME5.001405B8spamBeGonespamspamLIME.EASE.LSOFT.COM>; Tue, 23 Feb 1999 6:27:15
              from MITVMA.MIT.EDU by MITVMA.MIT.EDU (LISTSERV release
1.8c) with NJE id 7896 for
              RemoveMEPICLISTEraseMEspamRemoveMEMITVMA.MIT.EDU; Tue, 23 Feb 1999 06:28:59 -0500
              from MITVMA (NJE origin SMTP@MITVMA) by MITVMA.MIT.EDU
(LMail V1.2b/1.8b) with
              BSMTP id 0001 for <pic@MITVMA>; Tue, 23 Feb 1999 06:18:44
              from mail.fred.net [] by mitvma.mit.edu (IBM
VM SMTP V2R4a) via TCP with SMTP
              ; Tue, 23 Feb 1999 06:18:43 EST
              mitvma.mit.edu: Mail was sent by mail.fred.net
              from bigdog.fred.net (bigdog.fred.net []) by
mail.fred.net (8.9.2/8.9.2) with ESMTP id
              GAA05340; Tue, 23 Feb 1999 06:16:18 -0500 (EST)
              from bigdog.fred.net ([]) by bigdog.fred.net
(8.9.1b+Sun/8.9.1) with SMTP id
              GAA02692; Tue, 23 Feb 1999 06:16:12 -0500 (EST)
              from mailhost.mminfo.com (alt1.dawn-rest.com
( by dawn-rest.com (8.8.5/8.6.5) with
              SMTP id GAA07424 for <EraseMEmminfospam.....dawn-rest.com>; Tue, 23 Feb
1999 12:10:37 -0600 (EST)
              34078848 0
              Tue, 23 Feb 1999 12:10:37 EST
              pic microcontroller discussion list
              Authenticated sender is <.....mminfospam_OUTspamSTOPspamdawn-rest.com>
              We kindly advise you to open this letter
              To: KILLspammminfospamBeGonespamdawn-rest.com
---  End Paste  ---

<36D2E4F1.AFEB6FA6@nwlink.com> 7bit

See also: www.piclist.com/techref/index.htm?key=kindly+advise+you
Reply You must be a member of the piclist mailing list (not only a www.piclist.com member) to post to the piclist. This form requires JavaScript and a browser/email client that can handle form mailto: posts.
Subject (change) We kindly advise you to open this letter

month overview.

new search...