No exact or substring matches. trying for part
PICList
Thread
'All: [ADMIN] Possible address mining again'
2000\11\15@215516
by
Mike
|
part 1 779 bytes content-type:text/plain; charset=us-ascii (decoded quoted-printable)
::sigh:: The spam just never stops. Did anyone else on this list get an
email recently with the subject line:
CompactPCI E-Lert: Interphase, Win a Portable MP3 Player
I didn't have the patience to wade through the HTML, but it had something to
do with embedded systems development. And I didn't even bother with the
50-some-odd kB worth of images that were attached. I have a strong
suspicion that my address was mined from this list. If it was, and if I
find out who did it ...
-- Mike Werner KA8YSD | He that is slow to believe anything and
| everything is of great understanding,
'91 GS500E | for belief in one false principle is the
Morgantown WV | beginning of all unwisdom.
part 2 233 bytes content-type:application/pgp-signature (decode)
part 3 131 bytes
--
http://www.piclist.com hint: The PICList is archived three different
ways. See http://www.piclist.com/#archives for details.
2000\11\15@220416
by
David Duffy
At 09:54 PM 15/11/00 -0500, you wrote:
>::sigh:: The spam just never stops. Did anyone else on this list get an
>email recently with the subject line:
Yep, I wondered about that too.
{Quote hidden}>CompactPCI E-Lert: Interphase, Win a Portable MP3 Player
>
>I didn't have the patience to wade through the HTML, but it had something to
>do with embedded systems development. And I didn't even bother with the
>50-some-odd kB worth of images that were attached. I have a strong
>suspicion that my address was mined from this list. If it was, and if I
>find out who did it ...
>--
>Mike Werner KA8YSD | He that is slow to believe anything and
> | everything is of great understanding,
>'91 GS500E | for belief in one false principle is the
>Morgantown WV | beginning of all unwisdom.
>
--
http://www.piclist.com hint: The PICList is archived three different
ways. See http://www.piclist.com/#archives for details.
2000\11\15@221740
by
Bob Ammerman
2000\11\15@222641
by
David VanHorn
2000\11\15@231235
by
Jinx
2000\11\16@004620
by
Randy Glenn
Same here.
-Randy Glenn
Randy_Glenn-at-tvo.org - PICxpert-at-home.com
PICxpert-at-yahoo.com - PICxpert-at-picxpert.com
http://www.picxpert.com/
{Original Message removed}
2000\11\16@005920
by
Kyrre Aalerud
2000\11\16@023923
by
Michael Rigby-Jones
'[PICLIST] [ADMIN] Possible address mining again'
2000\11\16@030140
by
Alan B. Pearce
I had something like that too. I do get a certain amount of Spam through my
mailbox, and it just gets deleted, but I do remember one about an MP3 player,
but why they worried about a UK address ?? That may be why some have not seen
it, the addresses may have been selectively mined.
--
http://www.piclist.com#nomail Going offline? Don't AutoReply us!
email listserv
spam_OUTmitvma.mit.edu with SET PICList DIGEST in the body
'All: [ADMIN] Possible address mining again'
2000\11\16@030156
by
Morgan Olsson
2000\11\16@031800
by
Andy Stubbins
2000\11\16@062852
by
Mark Willis
|
Received that here as well. LART copy included below:
--- Begin ---
verio.net: FYI.
nameservers.net: FYI.
hway.net: FYI.
vwh1.net: Please reconsider hosting opensystems-publishing.com; This
spamvertisement is NOT welcome here. At the very least, tell them that
mining e-mail lists for e-mail addresses, then spamming those addresses,
is not a good idea.
opensystems-publishing.com: Go away. Take this SPAM with you.
ameritech.net: Your mpdr0.detroit.mi.ameritech.net aka
mailhost.det.ameritech.net [206.141.239.206] was used to relay this on
from your dyn1-tnt8-159.detroit.mi.ameritech.net [206.141.213.159];
Please track down and delete the sender.
uu.net: Web page http://www.interphase.com was spamvertised here;
Please delete that spamvertised web page.
iphase.com: Not cool. Go away until you can deal honestly with other
Internet users.
--- End ---
Don't just track down the sender, track down the company's web page and
get it shut down. THAT will bug 'em. I use samspade.org and
abuse.net's forwarding service to make this easy. Notify anyone and
everyone involved - it's not uncommon for a Spammer to put one company
inside another so their apparent ISP is someone they control; Feel free
to notify upstreams to make that irrelevant.
Spamming's theft, on a huge scale, by automation. Idiot spammers.
Mark
Mike wrote:
{Quote hidden}> ::sigh:: The spam just never stops. Did anyone else on this list get an
> email recently with the subject line:
>
> CompactPCI E-Lert: Interphase, Win a Portable MP3 Player
>
> I didn't have the patience to wade through the HTML, but it had something to
> do with embedded systems development. And I didn't even bother with the
> 50-some-odd kB worth of images that were attached. I have a strong
> suspicion that my address was mined from this list. If it was, and if I
> find out who did it ...
> --
> Mike Werner KA8YSD | He that is slow to believe anything and
> | everything is of great understanding,
> '91 GS500E | for belief in one false principle is the
> Morgantown WV | beginning of all unwisdom.
--
http://www.piclist.com#nomail Going offline? Don't AutoReply us!
email TakeThisOuTlistservEraseME
spam_OUTmitvma.mit.edu with SET PICList DIGEST in the body
2000\11\16@092315
by
Mark Skeels
2000\11\16@093523
by
Olin Lathrop
> >::sigh:: The spam just never stops. Did anyone else on this list get an
> >email recently with the subject line:
>
> Yep, I wondered about that too.
>
> >CompactPCI E-Lert: Interphase, Win a Portable MP3 Player
> >
> >... I have a strong
> >suspicion that my address was mined from this list. If it was, and if I
> >find out who did it ...
I got it too, and yes, the address was definitely mined from this list. I
use various email aliases (partly so that I can tell how a spammer got my
address) and the address I use for this list is ONLY used with this list.
*****************************************************************
Olin Lathrop, embedded systems consultant in Devens Massachusetts
(978) 772-3129, olinEraseME
.....cognivis.com, http://www.cognivis.com
--
http://www.piclist.com#nomail Going offline? Don't AutoReply us!
email EraseMElistserv
mitvma.mit.edu with SET PICList DIGEST in the body
2000\11\16@094348
by
o-8859-1?Q?K=FCbek_Tony?=
|
Well me to,
Mark Willis wrote:
>--- Begin ---
>verio.net: FYI.
>nameservers.net: FYI.
>hway.net: FYI.
>vwh1.net: Please reconsider hosting opensystems-publishing.com; This
>spamvertisement is NOT welcome here. At the very least, tell them that
>mining e-mail lists for e-mail addresses, then spamming those
addresses,
{Quote hidden}>is not a good idea.
>
>opensystems-publishing.com: Go away. Take this SPAM with you.
>
>ameritech.net: Your mpdr0.detroit.mi.ameritech.net aka
>mailhost.det.ameritech.net [206.141.239.206] was used to relay this on
>from your dyn1-tnt8-159.detroit.mi.ameritech.net [206.141.213.159];
>Please track down and delete the sender.
>
>uu.net: Web page
http://www.interphase.com was spamvertised here;
>Please delete that spamvertised web page.
>iphase.com: Not cool. Go away until you can deal honestly with other
>Internet users.
>--- End ---
Yes,Yes,Yes :)
Give it to them...
/Tony
Tony Kübek, Flintab AB
²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²
E-mail: RemoveMEtony.kubekEraseME
EraseMEflintab.com
²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²²
--
http://www.piclist.com#nomail Going offline? Don't AutoReply us!
email RemoveMElistservspam_OUT
KILLspammitvma.mit.edu with SET PICList DIGEST in the body
2000\11\16@103738
by
Bill Westfield
'[PICLIST] [ADMIN] Possible address mining again'
2000\11\16@110341
by
Sam Linder
|
I got it also.
-----Original Message-----
From: Mike [EraseMEreznaeousspam
spamBeGoneEARTHLINK.NET]
Sent: Wednesday, November 15, 2000 6:55 PM
To: RemoveMEPICLISTKILLspam
MITVMA.MIT.EDU
Subject: All: [ADMIN] Possible address mining again
::sigh:: The spam just never stops. Did anyone else on this list get an
email recently with the subject line:
CompactPCI E-Lert: Interphase, Win a Portable MP3 Player
I didn't have the patience to wade through the HTML, but it had something to
do with embedded systems development. And I didn't even bother with the
50-some-odd kB worth of images that were attached. I have a strong
suspicion that my address was mined from this list. If it was, and if I
find out who did it ...
--
Mike Werner KA8YSD | He that is slow to believe anything and
| everything is of great understanding,
'91 GS500E | for belief in one false principle is the
Morgantown WV | beginning of all unwisdom.
--
http://www.piclist.com#nomail Going offline? Don't AutoReply us!
email listservSTOPspam
spam_OUTmitvma.mit.edu with SET PICList DIGEST in the body
2000\11\16@121853
by
Ethan Swint
2000\11\16@125654
by
jamesnewton
2000\11\16@125657
by
jamesnewton
'All: [ADMIN] Possible address mining again'
2000\11\16@142707
by
Mark Willis
Could be another example of a new hire trying to impress the boss.
(i.e. a new hire who is CLUELESS. Bet they're getting a clue today...)
Mark
William Chops Westfield wrote:
> Me too. I thought "Interphase" was a relatively reputable company,
> however... At least it's not "lose weight fast"...
>
> BillW
--
http://www.piclist.com#nomail Going offline? Don't AutoReply us!
email .....listservspam_OUT
mitvma.mit.edu with SET PICList DIGEST in the body
2000\11\17@121256
by
staff
More... (looser matching)
- Last day of these posts
- In 2000
, 2001 only
- Today
- New search...